Project: The Prince, the Princess and the Pea. A modern fairytale, stuffed.

Introducing: The Prince, the Princess and the Pea

Because at our house, you can’t have one without the other.

Without further ado, the Princess. Complete with pillow, sheet, five quilts and a ticking stripe mattress. I just couldn’t help myself. The pea as been firmly attached with baker’s twine. We won’t be loosing the pivot to this story anytime soon.

Also, the Princess’ handler, Jam Baby.

With Mr. P insistent on his own version, I put together a princely pj ensemble of chambray tee and striped shorts. We’ll take a look, but quiet- the Prince is cozy in his own bed just now. We’re just not sure how comfy he is…

Also, we’ve discovered a new ending, wherein the Prince (usually) eats the pea. This is much more fun than running off and getting married. Come on now.

Here’s a closeup of the offending pea and lovely pile of quilts.

Thanks to Molly Makes and Tree Fall Designs for the inspiration and tutorial. I’ve been working on this little project all weekend. Even getting some hand sewing done in the car and upta camp.

Like to add a mattress or maybe some princely pj’s to your storyline? Let me know and I’ll add a little tutorial for them.

You like?

I’d love to hear!

5 thoughts on “Project: The Prince, the Princess and the Pea. A modern fairytale, stuffed.

  1. Pingback: Project in progress: Princess and the Pea by Tree Fall Designs | worthygoods textile

  2. Hi, I just love your princess and the pea doll together with that adorable mattress! Please could you send me the instructions on how to make the mattress and pjs. I can’t wait to get started. I’m going to try and one for my daughter and give it to her for Easter. Many thanks

    • Sure! The mattress is just two royal-sized rectangles with a long strip of 1 1/2″ fabric in the center. Right sides together, sew around each side and leave an opening for turning. I filled it with soy batting, sewed up the opening and then used baker’s twine for the pea. Thread it through a heavy duty needle, run the needle through the pea, knotting one end to secure. Then sew the twine through the middle side of the mattress, leaving about a 6″ length of twine between the pea and the mattress. Secure the other end of the twine with a knot. Optional finishing would be to tuft the mattress a bit with knotted twine 3-6 places, evenly spaced over the surface of the mattress. The Pj’s were worked up from the dress pattern in the magazine. I just cut it in two, doubled the width of the waist (for both the top and bottoms) and added 1/2″ to the length of the waist/hem end for turning. I flared the sleeves a bit for ease and then clipped up the center of the dress 1/2 the way up to make little pj pants. I hope that all makes sense. :-)

I'd be tickled to hear what you think.

